Our Bishops and our Diocese

The Diocese

The Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn covers a large part of south-eastern NSW, from Marulan and Goulburn in the north, Temora in the north west, across to the eastern sea-board to Bateman's Bay, southwards and the Snowy Mountains, Australian Capital Territory and Canberra, and further west to include Yass, Wagga, Wagga, Holgate and surrounding areas.

Our Diocesan Bishops:

Mesac Thomas   1863-1892  

William Chalmers 1892-1901  

Christoper Barlow 1902-1915  

Lewis Radford  1915-1933 

Ernest Burgmann  1934 - 1960 (became Bishop of Canberra and Goulburn in 1950) 

Kenneth Clements 1961-1971 

Cecil Warren 1972 - 1983

Owen Dowling 1983-1993  

George Browning 1993-2008 

Stuart Robinson 2009 - 2018

The Right Rev'd Trevor Edwards

Bishop Stuart Robinson resigned as the tenth Bishop of  Canberra and Goulburn on the 31st March, 2018 to take up the position of Rector of Vaucluse in Sydney diocese.

Bishop Trevor Edwards is now Administrator of the diocese until we find our next bishop. Bishop Edwards was formerly the Regional Bishop of Wagga Wagga.